GHSLA Members Awarded Grant to Exhibit at Georgia Libraries Conference

Shannon Glover and Tyler Moses received an All of Us Exhibitor Award through the NNLM/SEA Funding Program to exhibit at the Georgia Libraries Conference, the annual joint meeting of the Georgia Library Association and the Georgia Association for Instructional Technology. This year’s meeting will occur October 9-11, 2019, in Macon. At the conference Shannon and Tyler will disseminate information about the All of Us program and how public libraries can support the initiative.

Spring 2019 Meeting Speakers

Ed Sperr, MLIS

A native of Augusta, Ed earned a Bachelor of Arts from the University of Georgia and a Masters of Library and Information Science from the University of South Carolina. He has worked in libraries in the Southeast, New England and the Caribbean.

Since developing the interactive tool PubVenn in 2015, Ed has explored the use the of data visualization techniques in several contexts and has presented his work at both regional and national meetings. As the Partnership’s Clinical Information Librarian, Ed provides point-of-care information to the Residents in the Graduate Medical Education program and works with them to develop the skills needed to find and evaluate the information necessary for clinical decision-making.

CE Instructor
Christine Willis, MLIS, AHIP

Christine is the Director of Knowledge Management & Learning Resources at Shepherd Center in Atlanta, GA. She oversees the Noble Learning Resource Center and provides research assistance to clinicians as well as consumer health information for patients and families. Her research interests include health literacy, library services for people with disabilities, and teaching clinicians how to access and evaluate evidence-based research to be applied in their practice.

Christine has been published in multiple library journals. She has taught CE courses for local, regional, and national library associations and at the American Congress of Rehabilitation Medicine annual meetings. Christine is involved with the Georgia Alliance for Health Literacy, Georgia Health Sciences Library Association, Southern Chapter of the Medical Library Association, the Medical Library Association, and several MLA Sections. She is on the Advisory Board of the Georgia Audible Universal Information Access Service. Christine is a column editor for the Journal of Hospital Librarianship and is the current Editor of MLAConnect.

Emily Lawson, MSLIS, AHIP

Emily is a clinical librarian at Children’s Healthcare of Atlanta. She has worked in academic and special libraries for 23 years and has found a meaningful and challenging career in hospital librarianship. Her areas of interest include expanding the clinical informationist services at Children’s, supporting the nursing research/EBP initiative, and using blogs to foster evidence-based medicine.

Kate Daniels, MLIS, AHIP

Kate is a clinical librarian at Children’s Healthcare of Atlanta. She has worked in medical libraries for 19 years. Areas of interest include supporting the nursing research initiative and electronic resource management and collection development.

For more information and to register for the GHSLA Spring 2019 Annual Meeting, please visit the meeting page here.

MLA Annual Meeting Travel Grant 2019

MLA is pleased to offer 10 travel grants to enable members to attend the association’s annual meeting in Chicago for 2019. More grants may be added if additional sponsors are secured. Funds of up to $1,000 each, for travel and meeting-related expenses, will be given to MLA members who might otherwise be unable to attend the meeting.

For more information and instructions on how to apply, visit the MLA ’19 Financial Support page.

Virtual Meeting on January 10, 2019

Thursday, January 10, 2019 – Virtual Meeting
Noon – 1:15 pm

Article Presentation
Grinstead C, et al. ProjectShare: Partnering With Nursing Professionals to Track Local Research. J Hosp Librarianship. 2018; 18(3):254-258.

Hear a presentation of this article and a discussion of how our member libraries support the dissemination of resesarch by practitioners and/or students and faculty at our respective institutions

Journal Club Discussion
Rapchak ME, et al. Implementing an interprofessional information literacy course: impact on student abilities and attitudes. JMLA. 2018; 106(4).

MLA members can apply for credit under the Independent Reading Program.

Read the article and join our discussion of:

  • Appropriateness of the method used to execute and evaluate the project
  • Potential application of the project and/or lessons learned in your setting

Information on how to join the virtual meeting will be posted to the GHSLA listserv soon.