Call for column authors – Journal of Consumer Health on the Internet

The editors of the column, “Patient/Patron Perspectives” in Journal of Consumer Health on the Internet are looking for information professionals in any type of library (public, academic, hospital, or special) interested in writing for this column.

This column is intended to illustrate the perspectives of consumers of health information found on the Internet.  The column provides an arena for consumer and health-sciences information professionals to share their use, attitudes, beliefs and understanding of health-related information found on the Internet.

Some examples of past column topics are: innovative new consumer-health programming in libraries, good and bad sources for consumer-health information, care-giving of loved ones from the librarian’s perspective, cyberchondria, and enhancing access to mental-health resources.  The emerging consumer-role can have implications for health care relationships. Each article in the Patient/Patron Perspectives’ column will focus on consumers of health, and their perspectives on consumer-health found on the Internet.

Any librarians interested in submitting comments or material for publication should contact Mary Ellen Nolan, MLS, AHIP and Amy Knehans, MLIS, AHIP.   Please send abstracts of 50-200 words with the e-mail subject line PROPOSAL FOR JCHI ARTICLE.

Call for Lightening Round presenters for the 2016 GHSLA / AHSLC Joint Meeting

The first day of our meeting, April 7th, will include a one hour slot for lightening rounds on the topic: How are you key to your community?

This session will give library staff members a chance to share innovative ideas about how the library and its staff are an integral part of the community they serve, whether it’s students, health care professionals, faculty, or the public.

Presentations may last 10 minutes, can be supported by a PowerPoint presentation, handouts, etc. and will be followed by audience questions. Time allotted will depend on how many abstracts are submitted and accepted.

If you have an idea for a topic that you would like to present, please send a short abstract to:  Please include your name, your institution, a presentation title, and desired outcomes of your presentation.

The deadline has been extended to Friday, January 29, 2016.

Members: Apply for funding to participate in the annual meeting

GHSLA is accepting applications for the Member Annual Meeting Travel Stipendwhich will fund travel for up to two members to attend the annual meeting in Decatur, GA.

The stipend covers meeting registration, one night’s lodging, and CE registration. See the attached application for eligibility guidelines and instructions.

Applications must be submitted by January 18, 2016.