Jocelyn Rankin Memorial Scholarship

Jocelyn, our 2001 Miriam Libbey speaker.

Jocelyn, our 2001 Miriam Libbey speaker.

The Jocelyn Rankin Memorial Scholarship, established in 2012, honors Dr. Jocelyn Rankin, whose mantra “that every challenge is an opportunity,” will withstand the test of time as librarianship continues to evolve. Her commitment to research was nationally recognized across her storied career.

Southern Chapter was Jocelyn’s professional home. She served as chair of the chapter and as chair of a number of its committees, including the Southern Chapter’s Research Committee which she founded.

This award assists Southern Chapter members in gaining needed skills and knowledge to perform, implement, and promote research projects within their institutions, communities, and across the field of medical librarianship.

Policy:  Applicants must be current, non-student Southern Chapter members who want to attend a research-related continuing education course or workshop. The amount awarded, not to exceed $500.00, can be used to defray expenses necessary for the fulfillment of the course (tuition, travel, etc.).  Preference will be given to courses sponsored by Southern Chapter or MLA, however the jury will consider courses sponsored by other organizations.

Applications will be judged jointly by the Honors and Awards Committee and the Research Committee Chair. Only one award will be given per the Southern Chapter/MLA association year.

Application:  To apply for this award, click HERE. The deadline for application is 30 days prior to course or workshop the applicant wishes to attend.

Guidelines:  Upon completion of the course, the recipient must submit a written report to the Chair of the Honors and Awards Committee for submission to Southern Expressions. Receipts for incurred expenses (up to $500.00) should be submitted to the Chapter Bookkeeper for reimbursement.

Submit applications to the Chair of the Honors & Awards Committee.

Donate: To donate to the Jocelyn Rankin Memorial Scholarship click HERE.

Past Winners: To see past scholarship winners, see the Past Award Winners page.